Brahms Piano Competition Detmold 23.09.-29.09.2024

Detmold University of Music is pleased to announce that the fourth piano Brahms Piano Competition will be held in 2024. The competition, which is primarily devoted to the works of Johannes Brahms, is open to pianists of all nationalities born after September 29, 1988. Previous 1st prize winners of the Brahms Piano Competition are excluded from entering again. The competition is held every three years. All rounds will take place at Detmold University of Music. They are open to the public and will be streamed live. A maximum of 30 competitors will be selected on the basis of video recordings by a jury of three.

The Brahms Piano Competition Detmold is a member of the Alink-Argerich Foundation and is kindly sponsored by the Stiftung Standortsicherung Kreis Lippe, Stiftung der Hochschule für Musik Detmold, Stiftergemeinschaft der Sparkasse Paderborn-Detmold-Höxter, Pohlmann Stiftung, Klaus Kühn (Grevenbroich), Dr. Arend Oetker (Berlin), Prof. Dr. Rudolf Schmid (Cologne/Hanover) and Dr. Hartmut Stange (Bielefeld).


Registration deadline: 30 April 2024

1st round 23–24 September 2024 (Brahms Hall)
2nd round 25–26 September 2024 (Brahms Hall)
Semi-final 27 September 2024 (Concert Building)
Final 29 September 2024 (Concert Building)


You can find the announcement here.