Ensemble Earquake

Founded in 2013 by Prof Fabien Lévy, Ensemble Earquake is a student ensemble for new and experimental music. Each semester the membership reforms around a group of long-term members, allowing for the possibility of a variety of different programmes, from chamber music to music for large ensembles. The ensemble offers students and teaching staff a professional context with regular rehearsals in which to prepare contemporary music for performance. 

The repertoire extends from new pieces written by HfM Detmold students of composition to important 20th and 21st century works, often including the use of new technology. Ensemble Earquake also works with scenic and themed concepts as an integral part of its activities, for example in the performances entitled "Music and Movement" and "Rain". The ensemble gives concerts both within and outside the Hochschule. There are also regular master classes for soloists and for the ensemble as a whole; these are given by experts in the interpretation of contemporary music. Past contributors have included Martin Fahlenbock (flautist from the Ensemble Recherche), Jagdish Mistry (solo violinist with the Ensemble Modern), Gordon Kampe, Farzia Fallah, Eiko Tsukamoto (composition) the Trio Catch, the Ensemble Musikfabrik (Cologne) and Kathinka Pasveer (Stockhausen-Stiftung für Musik), all of whom have come to Detmold to work with the Earquake Ensemble. 

Merve Kazokoğlu is currently artistic director of the Ensemble Earquake.